The Faculty of Management and Finance came into the existence since 29th April 2003 at the main premises of the University of Ruhuna. The Faculty has four Departments of studies namely Department of Accounting and Finance, Department of Human Resource Management, Department of Management and Entrepreneurship and Department of Marketing, in addition to the Computer Unit.

At present Faculty coordinates courses in a range of disciplines leading to Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA) degrees. Under the current educational reforms at the University, Course-Unit based Undergraduate Programmes were introduced with effect from September 2001. With these reforms, the Faculty is now offering BBA Degree Programmes in English mediums only.

Other than the Undergraduate programmes, the faculty coordinates Master in Philosophy (M.Phil.) and Master of Commerce (M.Com.) degree programmes based on independent research. Postgraduate Diploma in Business Administration (PDBA) and Master of Business Administration (MBA) programmes are special degree programmes offered by the faculty, which are mainly based on coursework and research component.


This Faculty is designed to investigate into unexplored phenomena on Management and Finance by maintaining a trade–off between modern Management Systems and Sri Lankan regional cultural contents, to transfer such knowledge by means of study programmes, conferences and publications, and to become the Centre for Regional Management Studies in Sri Lanka.


Produce graduates with a sound knowledge, skills and attitudes of Management and Finance to ensure and uplift the socio-economic standards of the country.

Web Team - Faculty of Management and Finance, University of Ruhuna.